Honestly, automobiles are so overrated. They take up more space than they need to, the insurance that you pay on them is outrageous, and the money you could save if you didn’t have to worry about gas would be limitless. Nonetheless, in the U.S. cars are a necessity. Although, I do use public transportation, it is not always convenient and the time it takes to get to a destination is 3 times longer than it would be in a car. I guess that is the trade off.

When I finally do purchase a car, I don’t plan on using it for my everyday transportation like most do. I will still rely on Marta–Atlanta’s transit system– in terms of going to school and work (sometimes). The car will only be used for events  (i.e., clubs, concerts, roadtrips, etc.). Otherwise, I’ll just use a bike.

It seems like everyday, I’m seeing more and more bikes on the road. It’s almost like the United States has been bitten by the European bug. It probably has to do with the increase of gas prices and the dismal economy. Regardless, it’s a great alternative.

It seems like the people in South Africa are making the change as well. Stan Engelbrecht and Nic Grobler founded the Bicycle Portraits as an opportunity to talk to other commuters on how and why they use their bikes. It’s an interesting read and the photography is pretty swell too.

More at Bicycle Portraits

