#%($ a dog! Jeans are a man’s best friend. Finding the right pair of jeans is a difficult task for me. First, it’s important to get the right wash. Currently, there’s a big trend for washed out jeans with all sorts of cuts and rips on them, but I’m a fan of a solid dark blue jean. As I like to call it, “the good old American classic”. Secondly, I need to get the right width. I used to be a big fan of skinny jeans before there were marketed  as skinny jeans. My body isn’t shaped for those “jeggings” that they try to market as  skinny jeans. I know prefer what they call now the “tailored look”. Where it’s slim enough to wear with high-tops and still look rock-ish , but I still have “man room” to breathe. Lastly, there is the importance of length. As of recently, I’ve been a fan of cuffing up my pants a lot more, which means that I need to by a longer length to allow me to get my prep/capri look on as much as possible.

It is these three things that I look for in a good pair of jeans and I usually tend to rock the same jeans over and over again until they turn into those faded, cut up jeans that folks are shelving out hundreds of dollars for. I believe Takayuki Akachi and I have the same mindset when it comes to our love for our jeans. Fortunately for us, Takayuki was able to document his pair on a 2 year adventure around the world.

By the way, I rock Levi’s 506: Skinny Tapered.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “Traveling Denim by Takayuki Akachi“, posted with vodpod
