There has been a lot of talk about M.I.A. ever since an article, written by New York Times journalist Lynn Hirschberg, negatively depicted the Sri-Lankan born singer. In one instance, Hirschberg wrote, “Unity holds no allure for Maya — she thrives on conflict, real or imagined. ‘I kind of want to be an outsider,’ she said, eating a truffle-flavored French fry. ‘I don’t want to make the same music, sing about the same stuff, talk about the same things. If that makes me a terrorist, then I’m a terrorist.'”Quotes like these portray M.I.A. as a bit of a delusional contradiction, which is far from what M.I.A. believes she is.

A couple of hours after the article was released M.I.A., also known as Maya Arulpragasam, posted this message on twitter:

917.834.3158 CALL ME IF YOU WANNA TALK TO ME ABOUT THE N Y T TRUTH ISSUE, ill b taking calls all day bitches ;)

The number given was that of Hirschberg’s and soon after the post her mailbox was completely full. A few hours afterwards M.I.A. posted another tweet stating:

NEWS IS AN OPINION! UNEDITED VERSION OF THE INTERVIEW WILL BE ON neetrecordings THIS MEMORIAL WEEKEND!!

Well it’s memorial weekend and as promised there are a few audio snippets of the alleged interview that don’t depict the journalist so well. In the first snippet, Hirschberg is heard meeting Maya at a restaurant where she actually recommends the assortment of fries, including “the truffled” one, and states that Maya can get whatever she likes because the New York Times will be paying for it.

The second snippet offers a quote from Maya  that seemed to be spun by Hirschberg during the writing of her article.

Who is right? I frankly don’t care. I do love M.I.A.’s music and what she stands for even if it all could just be a publicity stunt, but I also don’t think it’s okay to put someone’s personal information on the web like that. On the other hand, according to these audio snippets, it does seem that Hirschberg may have just been out to get M.I.A. The only ones who know the real truth behind this war of words is Maya and Hirschberg and I highly doubt that either will admit to their wrong doings.

On the brightside, there were some beautiful pictures taken of Maya, by Ryan McGinley, for the article and she posted a new song from her upcoming album, /\/\/\Y/\, that coincidentally takes a shot  at all her haters.

Listen to \”I\’m a Singer (Haters)\”

Click Here to read the full NYT article.

Click Here to hear the audio snippets and M.I.A.’s thoughts.

